SEMLEX

the Pioneering Company in the World of Biometric Technologies
Visit our blog

Semlex, an Ambitious Company With a Global Reach

Semlex was founded in 1992 by renowned entrepreneur Albert Karaziwan.
The company is headquartered in Brussels and takes its name from the Latin for “the meaning of the law”. It is first and foremost a family business and is not listed on the stock market.

Semlex’s objective is to develop increasingly more innovative biometric systems and to share them with as many people as possible. Over the years, this company has diversified to become a company with a worldwide reach. Today it is responsible for numerous developments that make it the world’s leader in new technologies and biometrics. Discover the journey of a company with many faces.

A Pioneering Company

How did a small Belgian family company become one of the world’s key players in the creation
of secure identity documents and biometric identification ?

It all goes back to 1992.
Albert Karaziwan was an ambitious man with a passion for new technologies. He created Semlex, an independent Belgian company, in the city where he lived. He started it all from the observation that the world is evolving towards a constant need for security. Transportation and travel documents therefore had to be made perfectly reliable and their owner’s identity inviolable. From there was born the concept for this company.

What fully contributed to this company’s success is that it offered a comprehensive identification and authentication solution using biometric technology. It was also the very first company to provide this innovative technology to the people in the African continent, and is a pioneering force in its field. The proven, innovative technology found in the Biometric Network System (BNS) is attractive to increasingly more countries that do not yet benefit from this technology, enabling them to take an important step forward in identity and biometric technologies. This system is one of the Semlex Group’s many innovations and it is intended to help establish a census of the population using ingenious technical systems.

This system is able to manage a substantial amount of data, including different applications like travel and identity documents, the creation of a civil status, verifying identities and even interconnectivity with information tools from other sectors. This comprehensive solution is used to launch a central biometric identification system. Thus, thanks to the Biometric Network System, the authorities from many countries and their governments can provide official documents reliably and securely.

A Company Known Internationally 

~

Comprehensive solutions

Today the Semlex Group is known around the world for its technological innovations and its comprehensive solutions. This family company specializes in biometric identification solutions implementation and will be developing this technology in Europe, the Americas as well as in Africa.
Z

Quality

Semlex provides its customers with full access to databases designed using facial features and individual fingerprints, and since its inception has made remarkable advances in the field of new technologies, making it stand out from all the other companies in the sector.

Flexibility

Flexible and adaptable to the countries’ economic situations, it is able to handle all production and design work by levying a commission on every official document produced. For these states, this represents a great opportunity to provide unfalsifiable documents to their people. This is in part the reason for the company’s sweeping success.

The Conquest of the African Market

Not long after it was created, Semlex entered the African market because it realized that this continent was like the “poor parent” unable to afford the traditional biometric techniques that are so very crucial in a society continually seeking greater security.

Its services also responded to the growing trend of identity fraud at the time, especially in the Ivory Coast. Considering these needs and applying its know-how in response, Semlex got involved and offered its services. This is how the Belgian company completed its first projects in Guinea-Bissau and in Gabon.

Photo plage île de la réunion
Following this in 2001, the company implemented the very first ID card secured with its holder’s biometric data in Chad. It then introduced the very first biometric passport in Madagascar in 2006.

Semlex produced Africa’s first ID1-size (credit card size) biometric card for the CEMAC. This card enables citizens to freely travel throughout the six member states of Cameroon, the Central African Republic, the Congo, Gabon, Equatorial Guinea and Chad. Today, citizens in these countries benefit from advanced technology that is useful to them day after day, in particular when travelling as well as in their administrative procedures.

Major Projects

Magasin physique
Today Semlex continues to pursue its ambitions in Africa. In fact, two ambitious projects are currently underway in the Democratic Republic of Congo and in Comoros. The objective is to develop innovations in biometrics and identity security in partnership with the national governments of those states.

In Mozambique, Semlex provided a comprehensive, integrated solution (see the documentary about this called: “Une solution complète pour le Mozambique” (A comprehensive solution for Mozambique). This means that it handled the project from start to finish, from the manufacturing phase, to personalization, until the official documents were issued to the people. The objective here was to complete the company’s range of offerings and to provide an even more comprehensive service to its customers. This is why in 2014 it acquired its own printing company, so it could control the entire chain of production. The company is reliable and fully secured, and provides a high quality service that meets the strictest requirements.

Semlex is Dedicated to the Fight Against Fraud

This company developed its knowledge in the fight against identity fraud and to help resolve many dysfunctions, particularly in certain African countries. This, amongst other things, helped make this company the world leader in the field of biometric identification and analysis systems used by governments and national populations. This is also what enables the company to be a key player as a pioneer in biometric systems creation.

The fingerprint identification system is no longer a secret for this company that made the security of its services its trademark. This system combines the use of a smartcard with biometric technology to ensure that an identity cannot be stolen. It is therefore impossible to falsify, which provides even more security to all users around the world.

Magasin physique

A Company With Multiple Values

1

Vibrant

This future-facing company’s has many values. It is versatile and places heavy emphasis on the security of people and their governments. Its objective is to provide quick, secure access to these official documents in order to enable as many people as possible to travel and work freely. It provides visas, passports, work permits and driver’s licenses, all designed using biometric technology. The company’s values are compassion, its commitment to populations around the world as well to strive for security and reliability at all stages.

Comprehensive services

This company’s values include a focus on providing consistently high-quality, comprehensive service. Semlex thereby provides services including authentication procedures, integrating security features in official documents, system design and installation, quality control during all phases of production, delivering fully secure documents, not to mention the training, technical assistance, providing customized, flexible financial plans and operational management.

Community projects

Lastly, the company is particularly committed to improving citizens’ access to technologies to improve their well-being. In 2014, thanks to Semlex, the archipelago of Comoros was able to install a drinking water station accessible to the entire population. This “gift” significantly improved its citizens’ standard of living. This unveiling involved a ceremony that was held in the presence of influential people, including company founder Albert Karaziwan.

World-Renowned Know-How

This success is due primarily because of the ambition of its creator and CEO, Albert Karaziwan, as well as the teams that work day after day to provide high-end services.

As an indication of quality and reliability, Semlex now has many certifications, including ISO 14001 (2015 version) certification, as well as ISO 9001 certification, which are true gauges of security. Additionally, the company adopted its Semlex Quality Policy in 2017.

Lastly, to company implements biometric and electronic identification systems in compliance with the international standards established by many organizations.

Today Semlex is very well known in its sector and is a key player in biometric products manufacturing. This highly forward-thinking company has helped countries that previously lacked customized solutions to benefit from secure systems for their official documents.

SEMLEX

l’entreprise pionnière dans le monde des technologies biométriques
Découvrez notre blog

Semlex, une entreprise dynamique au rayonnement mondial

Fondée en 1992 par l’entrepreneur de renom Albert Karaziwan,
la société Semlex – dont le nom en latin signifie « le sens de la loi » – est avant tout une entreprise familiale, non cotée en bourse, dont le siège social est situé à Bruxelles.

Son objectif est de développer des systèmes biométriques toujours plus innovants et de les diffuser au plus grand nombre. Au fil des années, cette société s’est diversifiée pour devenir aujourd’hui une entreprise au rayonnement planétaire.
Elle est aujourd’hui à l’origine de nombreux renouveaux qui font d’elle le leader des nouvelles technologies et de la biométrie dans le monde entier. Découvrez le parcours d’une entreprise aux multiples visages.

Une entreprise novatrice

Comment une petite société belge et familiale est devenue un acteur incontournable dans la sphère mondiale
en ce qui concerne la création de documents d’identité sécurisés et d’identification biométrique ?

Tout remonte à 1992.
Albert Karaziwan est alors un homme ambitieux, passionné de nouvelles technologies. Il créé alors Semlex, une société indépendante en Belgique, dans la même ville de son lieu d’habitation. Il part alors du constat suivant : le monde évolue vers un besoin constant de sécurité. Les documents de transport et de voyage se devaient donc d’être rendus parfaitement fiables et l’identité de leur possesseur inviolable. De là est né le concept de cette entreprise.

Ce qui a pleinement contribué à la réussite de cette société
est qu’elle a su proposer une solution complète d’identification et d’authentification par la technique de la biométrie. C’est aussi la toute première à avoir proposé de fournir cette technologie innovante à la population au sein du continent africain. Elle est donc entièrement novatrice dans son domaine. Cette technique innovante qui a fait ses preuves et qui attire aujourd’hui de plus en plus de pays qui en sont encore dépourvus est celle du système du « Biometric Network System » – BNS – constituant une avancée importante dans les technologies identitaires et biométriques. Ce système est l’une des nombreuses innovations mises en place par le groupe Semlex et est destiné à permettre le recensement d’une population, par le biais de systèmes techniques et ingénieux.

Ce système est capable de gérer un nombre conséquent de données, incluant différentes applications comme des documents de voyage et d’identité, la création d’un état civil, les vérifications d’identités et même l’interconnexion avec des outils d’information d’autres secteurs. Cette solution complète est destinée à mettre sur pied un système central d’identification biométrique. Ainsi, grâce au « Biometric Network System », les autorités de nombreux pays et leurs gouvernements peuvent fournir des documents officiels de manière fiable et sécurisée.

Une société au rayonnement international 

~

Solutions d'identification

Le groupe Semlex est aujourd’hui mondialement réputé pour ses innovations technologiques et ses solutions complètes. Cette société familiale est spécialisée dans la mise en place de solutions d’identification des citoyens par le truchement de la biométrie, destinées à être développées en Europe, en Amérique mais aussi au sein du continent africain.
Z

Qualité

Mettant à la pleine disposition de ses clients des bases de données conçues à partir de caractéristiques faciales et d’empreintes digitales individuelles, la société Semlex a assuré dès sa création une avancé remarquable dans le domaine des nouvelles technologies, se démarquant ainsi de toutes les autres entreprises du secteur. 

Flexibilité

Flexible et s’adaptant à la situation économique des pays, elle propose de prendre à sa charge toute la production et la conception, en prélevant une commission sur chaque document officiel produit. Pour les Etats, il s’agit d’une occasion de doter leur population de documents infalsifiables. C’est ce qui explique en partie l’engouement majeur et rapide que la société a connu.

La conquête du marché africain

Semlex se lance peu de temps après sa création dans la conquête du marché africain, comprenant que ce continent est en quelque sorte le parent pauvre de ces techniques biométriques qui sont pourtant cruciales dans une société sans cesse à la recherche de plus de sécurité.

En outre, ces services interviennent en réponse au nombre croissant de fraudes identitaires de l’époque, notamment dans la région de la Côte d’Ivoire. Prenant en compte ces impératifs et apportant son savoir-faire en réponse, Semlex intervient et propose ses services. C’est ainsi que l’entreprise belge propose ses premiers projets en Guiné-Bissau ainsi qu’au Gabon.

Photo plage île de la réunion
Par la suite, en 2001, l’entreprise met en place pour le Tchad la toute première carte d’identité sécurisée par les données biométriques de son détenteur. En 2006, l’entreprise introduit le tout premier passeport biométrique à Madagascar.

Semlex a produit la première carte biométrique d’Afrique pour la CEMAC en format ID1 (format carte de crédit). Cette carte permet la libre circulation dans les 6 Etats membres : Cameroun. La République centrafricaine, le Congo. Le Gabon. La Guinée équatoriale et le Tchad. Aujourd’hui les citoyens de ces pays bénéficient d’une technologie avancée qui leur est utile jour après jour, notamment dans le cadre de leurs voyages mais aussi de leurs démarches administratives.

Des projets d'envergure

Aujourd’hui Semlex n’en a pas fini de poursuivre ses ambitions dans le continent africain. En effet, deux projets ambitieux sont en cours actuellement en République démocratique du Congo et aux Comores. L’objectif est de poursuivre les innovations en matière de biométrie et de sécurité identitaire, en partenariat avec les gouvernements des Etats concernés.

Au Mozambique, Semlex a offert une solution intégrale, complète (voir le documentaire à ce sujet : « Une solution complète pour le Mozambique ».) Cela signifie qu’elle propose de suivre le projet du début à la fin, de sa phase de fabrication et de personnalisation jusqu’à la délivrance des documents officiels aux populations. L’objectif par ce biais est de compléter le champ d’interventions de la société et d’offrir un service encore plus complet à ses clients. C’est pour cela qu’elle a fait l’acquisition en 2014 de sa propre imprimerie, afin de contrôler la chaîne entière de production. Qualitatif, fiable et entièrement sécurisé, le service que fournit cette société répond à des exigences strictes.

Une entreprise inscrite dans la lutte contre la fraude

Cette entreprise a su développer son savoir-faire dans le domaine de la lutte contre la fraude identitaire et venir à bout de plusieurs dysfonctionnements, notamment dans certains pays d’Afrique. C’est entre autres cela qui a permis de faire de cette entreprise le leader mondial dans le domaine des systèmes d’analyse et d’identification biométriques à destination des gouvernements et des populations nationales. C’est également cela qui permet aujourd’hui à cette société de faire partie des précurseurs dans la création de systèmes biométriques.

Le système d’identification d’empreintes digitales n’a donc désormais plus de secret pour cette entreprise qui a fait de la sécurité de ses services sa marque de fabrique. Ce système assurant une inviolabilité de l’identité, intervient pour coupler l’utilisation d’une carte à puce avec la technique de la biométrie. Toute falsification est donc impossible, ce qui assure encore davantage une sécurité à tous les utilisateurs du monde entier.

Magasin physique

Une entreprise aux multiples valeurs

1

Dynamique

Les valeurs de cette entreprise tournée vers l’avenir sont nombreuses. Dynamique, elle mise beaucoup sur la sécurité des populations et des gouvernements. Son objectif : permettre un accès rapide et sécurisé à ces documents officiels, afin de permettre au plus grand nombre de pouvoir voyager et travailler librement. Elle fournit ainsi des visas, des passeports, des permis de travail et des permis de conduire, tous conçus selon la technologie biométrique. Les valeurs de l’entreprise sont empreintes d’humanité, d’engagement auprès des populations du monde entier mais aussi une volonté sécuritaire et de fiabilité à tous les stades.

Services complets

Au titre des valeurs partagées par cette entreprise, se trouve l’envie de fournir un service complet et toujours de qualité.

Ainsi, Semlex fournit un service incluant des procédés d’authentification, l’intégration de dispositifs sécurisés sur des documents officiels, un design, l’installation du système, le contrôle de la qualité à toutes les phases de production, la délivrance de documents toujours sécurisés, sans oublier les formations, l’assistance technique, la fourniture de plans financiers ajustés et adaptés et un management opérationnel.

Projets solidaires

Enfin, l’entreprise est particulièrement engagée dans l’amélioration de l’accès des citoyens aux technologies et à l’amélioration de leur bien-être.

Ainsi, grâce à Semlex, l’archipel des Comores a bénéficié en 2014 de l’installation d’une station d’eau potable, accessible à toute la population.

Ce cadeau a sensiblement amélioré le niveau de vie des habitants. Cela a fait suite à une cérémonie qui s’est tenue, en la présence de personnes influentes, y compris le fondateur de la société, Albert Karaziwan.

Un savoir-faire reconnu mondialement

Cette réussite est pour beaucoup due à l’ambition de son créateur et président directeur général, Albert Karaziwan mais aussi des équipes qui travaillent jour après jour pour fournir des services haut de gamme.

Gage de qualité et de fiabilité, la société Semlex possède aujourd’hui plusieurs certifications.
C’est le cas de la certification ISO 14001 – version 2015 – ainsi que de la certification ISO 9001, véritables gages de sécurité.
En outre, l’entreprise a adopté sa politique qualité Semlex 2017.

Enfin, la société met en place des systèmes d’identification biométriques et électroniques en conformité avec les normes internationales établies par de nombreuses organisations.

Aujourd’hui particulièrement réputée dans son secteur, Semlex est un acteur incontournable dans la fabrication de produits biométriques. Entièrement novatrice, cette entreprise a permis à des pays jusqu’alors dépourvus de solutions adaptées de profiter de systèmes sécurisés pour leurs documents officiels.